The Grosshammer (Great Hammer) was the last of the hammer mills to be built. It was constructed in 1732, approximately 400 metres downstream on the banks of the Flöha. Business was booming and greater capacity was required. A house was built for the mill master and an area set aside specifically for the storage and processing of iron ore.
The decline of the smelting works resulted in excess capacity in the hammer mills. In 1849, the Great Hammer shed was leased to the Sächsische Gewehrfabrikanten-Innung (Saxony Guild of Arms Manufacturers) based in Olbernhau, which had won large orders to equip the army of Saxony with modern weapons.
Because of the growing demand for sheet copper and good experience with rolling technology, this lease was cancelled 10 years later. In 1857/59, a second rolling mill (Unteres Walzwerk) was built lower down on the site.
In 1902/03, the Unteres Walzwerk was supplemented by a third rolling mill. Between 1950 and 1955, they were enclosed in a much larger building.
These rolling mills became the main site of production for Sächsische Kupfer- und Messingwerke and the successor state-owned company VEB Blechwalzwerk. After reunification, the rolling mill went bankrupt and the buildings were gradually demolished. The site was finally cleared in 2011.